Skip to content

Pregnant Occupy Protester Miscarries After Seattle Cops Kick Her in the Stomach

November 28, 2011

According to recent reports, the woman pictured here, being carried by fellow protesters to an ambulance, lost her baby after being kicked in the stomach repeatedly by Seattle cops, apparently after she told them she was pregnant.

 

“I was standing in the middle of the crowd when the police started moving in,” she says. “I was screaming, ‘I am pregnant, I am pregnant. Let me through. I am trying to get out.'” At that point, Fox continues, a Seattle police officer lifted his foot and it hit her in the stomach, and another officer pushed his bicycle into the crowd, again hitting Fox in the stomach. “Right before I turned, both cops lifted their pepper spray and sprayed me. My eyes puffed up and my eyes swelled shut,” she says.

Fox asked for medical attention—the now-famous photo by Josh Trujillo of her being carried to the ambulance is here (click to the second photo)—and was rushed to Harborview Medical Center, she says, where doctors performed an ultrasound and said that they “didn’t see anything wrong with the baby at the time.” Fox says she had also seen a physician at Harborview for prenatal care about five week before.

“Everything was going okay until yesterday, when I started getting sick, cramps started, and I felt like I was going to pass out,” Fox says.

A friend called for an ambulance near the community college campus. (Fox says she has been camping with Occupy Seattle since it first began in Westlake Park. She is homeless and says, “I don’t have a place. This is the place I call home.”) When she arrived at Harborview at 11:00 a.m., she says, a doctor told her that “there was no heartbeat” from the baby. “They diagnosed that I was having a miscarriage. They said the damage was from the kick and that the pepper spray got to it [the fetus], too.”

As for joining the protests, she says, “I was worried about it, but I didn’t know it would be this bad. I didn’t know that a cop would murder a baby that’s not born yet… I am trying to get lawyers.”

While it find it irritating that the reporters would ask for medical records to “verify” her story, I think it’s illustrative to point out that she stated she was pregnant and was beaten specifically in the stomach. She states she was pregnant and then that reporters wanted her medical records in order to believe her.

Here is a short video of her shortly after being kicked in the stomach by “police officers.”

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

