Skip to content

Kesha’s Love Song to Her Vagina

February 28, 2013

I like Keisha, even if she does, reportedly, brush her teeth with a bottle of Jack. She would have fresh breath, wouldn’t she? I like that she puts it all out there, even if this is generally considered a sign of instability. Keisha acknowledges this with comments about her new song, which is, as Huff Post puts it: “an ode to her vagina.”

Lest she stop there, Ke$ha went on to explain that she gets help on songs like “Gold Trans Am” from none other than her mom. “We write songs about boys and sex together,” she said. “That may not be normal to the average psychiatrist out there but I think it’s pretty cool.”

To push the envelope even farther than writing an ode to her “pussy,” as Kesha calls it, she wrote it with her mother.  I have to say I heard my grandmother and aunts refer to vaginas as “kitties,” as in: “Hey, Mom, wipe that kitty, and let’s go.” Or, some of my family refers to vaginas as “twillies,” sounding much like “kitties,” with the short “i” sound and double consonant. So, is it really odd for me to hear Kesha say that she wrote an ode to her pussy with input from her mother?  Perhaps in a commentary on my own family, not so much.  Kesha came from her mother’s pussy, so the idea that perhaps there is some line that is already drawn is kind of null and void.  And as parents, don’t we all hope that our children will talk to us about their relationships, even hope that when they get older they are able to enjoy sex with a partner? Is it any stretch then, really, that Kesha might write a song about sex and talk with her mom about it?

The only thing that creeps me out is Keisha’s reference to “boys and sex” in the same sentence, as if she is still playing with the concept of sex as a teenager would, or a child, and sex is not child’s play. The whole idea that she would talk about sex with her mom, not too surprising. I am not too shocked that she says “pussy” in front of her mother either, because in order to have Keisha, someone had a pussy.

And what mother who hasn’t birthed a baby wouldn’t be smiling at the thought of a young woman’s vagina being in “tip-top shape” when she wants to talk about herself?  Thank goodness Kesha has confidence in that sort of thing, which is much more refreshing that the whole discussion of labioplasty.

This song makes me want to have sex inside my car.

There is a little bit of Joan Jett, “I love Rock and Roll,” combined with some Kid Rock and the “freedom ride” bit.  Wonder how Kid Rock feels about it?  Stupid question, because he probably loves it.

“It began as a song about my car, which is a gold Trans Am, and it works about 40 percent of the time,” Ke$ha told Q Magazine. “I don’t have another car because I love that one so much. But then like all great pop, it became a metaphor for something else — my p—y.”

“My vagina is in tip-top working order,” she continued. “Valeted and souped-up and working 100 percent of the time.”

I wonder who the valet is, or how one’s vagina gets “valeted,” but perhaps this isn’t a game of semantics but a young woman’s happiness with her body and sexuality. And, be honest here, aren’t all of us who aren’t in that position just a wee bit envious, remembering when we might have felt that way ourselves? I don’t know if I could say that my vagina “works 100 percent of the time,” because I don’t know how to qualify “working,” rather thinking of a vagina in a state of being, but hooray for Kesha’s working vagina!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

