Skip to content

Vagina is “handy little hole”

February 4, 2009

Upon reading a news article regarding removing a woman’s kidney through her vagina (and these stupid physicians think this will encourage MORE organ donation–idiots!), I was remarking about how I would not want cuts through my vagina for other operations.  My partner made the remark that he thinks doctors must see the vagina as simply a “handy little whole” [whoops, slip-up typing on my part, meant to type “hole].  I tried to re-type that three times and kept typing “whole” but I think “whole” is more accurate.  Most physicians see women’s health as just about the vagina.  It is the whole thing in women’s health.

Look at women’s health centers, all about gynecology, reproductive medicine, or some version of cancers of the whole vagina medicine, as I call it.  I don’t see any women’s centers focusing on cardiology, nor do I see women’s centers set up specifically for orthopedics.  Amazing since we do know that women’s hearts and bones respond differently to treatments originally designed for men.  In fact, there is new evidence to show that the treatments originally designed for men having heart attacks have very little impact on women’s heart attacks.

Hmm, I don’t think this is just because we have vaginas, but if you are curious about this thread of conversation, go ahead and look at health centers for women.  I would challenge specialty groups in the areas of cardiology, endocrinology and orthopedics to focus on women, but maybe since the largest proportion of these physicians are men, I wouldn’t get much traction.  On the other hand, I have to agree with my partner’s assessment of how the medical profession views vaginas as “handy little holes.”  I don’t think most women think of their vaginas as simplistic tubes or holes, but then, I don’t know that for sure.  I invite your comment.

Sad Woman Used as the Vagina Organ Removal Argument
Leave a Reply

