Skip to content

Jezebel–New Favorite site, sexual attraction to objects

February 6, 2009

Whenever you are looking for something interesting to read, here is a site that provides food for thought.  Jezebel has commentary on lots of interesting things, but the one that caught my eye was the discussion of women discussing how they have intimate relationships with inanimate objects.

It seems no coincidence to me that these women both fall into the Asperger Spectrum (which tends to have as a common similarity finding emotion within an inanimate object, most disturbing to others because we tend to like to find emotions only in human subjects) and have been “abused in some way.”  I am not sure how the abuse took place, but I would guess it’s part of the syndrome in that it is a safe relationship.

What it calls into question for me, even with my background training in abnormal psyche is:  do the people really sense an affiliation for something inanimate, and if so, what does it feel like?  I know , I know, sounds crazy in the first sense, but humans have been attributing emotions to inanimate objects since the very beginning (totem poles, temples, pyramids, statues of gods, ancestor memorial, memorial walls, memorial statues, and other statuesque creations designed to actually convey an emotion to the viewer, even teddy bears).  So why does this idea of love still seem so strange to me?

I don’t know.  I am uncomfortable validating one culture’s emotional or sexual response to a statue while completely condemning another, but I guess it all evokes just this feeling of unease in me.  I am really trying to figure out why I find it so discomfiting.  But then again, that’s why I say the Jezebel site has plenty of food for thought.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

