Skip to content

Are Increased Rates of Suicides Just Part of the Economic Cycle?

March 9, 2009

Suicide rates have gone up almost 71% in the past calendar year. Every time there is a recession, there is an increase in suicides.  There is so much moralistic talk during a recession that it doesn’t surprise me that rates of suicide go up–there is so much shame in being broke that some people would rather be dead.

Our family has fallen victim to the recession, and I can tell you how many times my partner and I have been treated to nasty creditor calls who say things like:

  1. Well, I guess I will just have to pray for you.
  2. I think you should just make a payment.  (yes, we would like to but can’t afford it.)
  3. We can’t accept half a payment–we will send your check back.
  4. I would advise you to get some more money in immediately.
  5. No, you don’t qualify for a payment restructuring plan because you are only collecting unemployment.

The morals in this country appear to be set by the money we make.  While I don’t think its surprising that suicide rates are up, I do think its sad that general consumers are to blame for the recession when they are first criticized for buying too much and then not buying enough.  Seems there is no way out unless you are a CEO, and then you can just take off in the jet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

