Skip to content

Kid Rock, Eminem, Ted Nugent and Michael Moore all came from Michigan, Madonna too.

April 9, 2009
DETROIT - JANUARY 12:  Singer Kid Rock perform...
Image by Getty Images via Daylife

In my other posts, I have taken Granholm to task for the way that she has planned and failed in the economic climate of Michigan, and the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to see Granholm advocate for more types of industry here in Michigan.  In the enterainment industry alone, we have had Kid Rock, Eminem, Ted Nugent, and Michael Moore all use their art and jobs to push the Michigan solidarity.  Why not work to keep these people around?  All too often, I see the talent of Michigan go to big cities.  I got a pingback from GoTryke, which boasts kick-ass graphics and a certified female mechanic to dish about cars, but guess where they are?  New York now.

Granholm is going to have to do more than cater to the auto industry execs and use start-up road crews to bolster the economy.  What about keeping the talent here?  Why don’t we give a shout out to Kid Rock and Eminem?  I know that their lifestyle doesn’t necessarily fit with my feminist ire, as my partner puts it, but I still think that they have valid points to make at times.  And really, in times like this, shouldn’t we stick with the people who are sticking with us?

I find Ted Nugent to be particularly foul-mouthed when it comes to his dealings with women, but I do agree with his premise to protect the environment for our future generations.

Michael Moore has taken on the industry standards in many ways, and his 9/11 and Supersize Me, as well as his take on the auto industry years ago predicted some of this mess.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

