Skip to content

Qliance–doctor’s office membership–health insurance not welcome

September 10, 2009
intro to Health Care Reform Series on Vimeo by...
Image by craynol via Flickr

Qliance is now offering health care for a monthly fee, usually $40-$90, with no health insurance accepted.  In a sign that this movement may be growing, the company also obtained $4million dollars worth of new venture capital to expand their centers.  Hey Qliance:  if you want to open shop around here, let me know, I would like to have a clinic like this.

Qliance offers primary care offices for lowered prices and advises clients to get catastrophic insurance.  From personal experience, I can tell you that even with health insurance, we were bankrupted from medical bills.  The doctors made mistakes; I was injured; lost coverage; bad bills.  I like the idea though of being able to get primary care again.  I like the idea of being able to get checked for the sinus infection that may be coming on with fall allergies, get my basic blood work done at a reasonable fee, maybe even get that foot x-rayed that keeps hurting.  What Qliance offers, and I feel will be a real threat to the health insurance establishment is: individual choice for consumers.  I like the idea, I really do.  Qliance, here is some Unasked Advice:  go to a rural community and see how many people would buy into your coverage.  In rural communities, health care opportunities are scarce.  If you can make a go of it there, you could go anywhere else.  Besides, I like the idea of not paying health insurance, because for me, frankly, health insurance still equaled bankruptcy.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

