Skip to content

Detroit’s Unemployment Rate is 50%

December 17, 2009

The cat is out of the bag:  the underemployment and unemployment numbers combined in Michigan show an underemployment rate of 50% in the Detroit area.

Michigan’s unemployment rate hit  21% this month, the highest in the nation. (Michigan’s news lately hasn’t been all that fun to report.  Beginning to regret writing on that…):

The states with the highest underemployment rates through the third quarter of this year were Michigan (20.9 percent), Oregon (20.1 percent), California (19.6 percent) and South Carolina (18.4 percent).

This is for the third quarter, but many in Michigan also qualified for the emergency unemployment measures, with a good number out of work for over a year or more.  Our family has been underemployed for quite some time, hence my moniker, which was really a joke at first but has become a sad reality.  But we are not the only ones.  In my  neighborhood, the unemployment rate for two-parent households is 30%, at least.

In a strange farce of a sick economic comedy, I had to call and warn Consumer’s Energy today that my neighbors had been “tracking some guy 4 blocks through the snow” who had gotten into my gated backyard and fed my dog something to make her stop barking.  When I told Consumer’s I was worried about their techs getting shot, they accused me of threatening them until I told them I didn’t even own a gun and certainly wasn’t going to go confront the neighbor either.  Everyone around here is armed; they get their main meat for the winter from deer season.  And, they are all home.  None of the neighbors are working full-time either.  Consumer’s finally thanked me, but the hassle was enough to make me put up solar panels and forget about the meter readers who may be hassled in other yards.  (I’d like to forget about Consumer’s too, but I can’t at the moment.)

In Detroit, things are bad according to The Detroit News,  and as I have reported before, getting worse:

For a variety or reasons — access to transportation, job availability and work skills — an estimated 48.5 percent of male Detroiters ages 20 to 64 didn’t have a job in 2008, according to census figures. For Michigan, it’s 26.6 percent; for the United States, 21.7 percent.

According to some stupid researcher apparently women have it easier, but it may just mean that the grunt work is left for the women:  cleaning, service, child care, etc.

Underneath the article published about this on the Huffington Post, there is an article about how home building has gone up 8.9% in November, “due to good weather” (a sure sign they are not in Michigan) while the Mayor of Detroit, Dave Bing says there are projects in Detroit that are “shovel ready.” (Mayor Bing was in Washington this week to try to jumpstart clean-up and infrastructure projects in Detroit.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Day permalink
    February 22, 2010 2:46 am

    Hi, I included a link to your post in on I just did on unemployment in america and the mainstream media’s refusal to report actuality. Here’s the post – added you to my blogroll. Hope you are hanging in there, spaking for me, I’m now an expoert at making delicious meals out of practically nothing.

    Chase

    http://alligatorfarm.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/great-depression-2010/

    • brokeharvardgrad permalink*
      February 22, 2010 4:25 pm

      I hear you. I am too. I am glad to hear you are speaking out about the mainstream media’s almost refusal to admit what is going on with the general public in this depression. Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. BadGalsRadio – Roots, Riddim and Truth since 99' » Blog Archive » Just F’n Excuse me – 50% Unemployment ?

Leave a Reply

