Skip to content

Dad Does Daughter’s Hair With Another Baby In Front Pack AND Says He Is Not A Hero

January 8, 2014

No wonder this man is taken. He sounds too good to be true, but since he posted a picture of himself on the internet, we must assume the truth. Like parenting pictures tend to do, this one has gone viral, and not just because it’s a picture of a dad doing his daughter’s hair, but because he has a baby in the front pack while he does it AND he says that he shouldn’t get accolades because he is doing what mothers all over do everyday.  I think I love him. He doesn’t know it, and I am sure he has received marriage proposals because of it, but what man who manages to understand girls and women, while wielding a brush and a baby is not totally sexy?? None that I can think of…

This man is smart enough to watermark his own picture, and he was smart enough to take some paternity leave to bond with his daughter. Smart man, indeed. Likable, laudable, given that most men don’t admit that this kind of importance of fathering. Lovable when he writes the following description:

Most of you know this, but I’m taking the month of October off from my corporate job for baby bonding with my 3-month old daughter. It’s a lot of work being a stay at home parent, but it’s so damn rewarding. My baby girl smiles at me nonstop these days and I know it’s attributed to the one-on-one time I’m spending with her. It’s a blast.

One morning last week, MDW was running late for work and was worried that she wouldn’t be able to get DDW1′s hair done before I had to take her to school. I told her that she could leave and I’d handle it. She countered by saying that doing her hair requires attention and the baby would get upset if I left her alone while I played the role of stylist. Again, I told her that I’d handle it. On the way out she said, “I’ll believe it when I see it.”

That’s when I put DDW2 in the Ergo, stood DDW1 on a stool and worked my hair magic. During the process, I thought, “There’s no way my wife will believe me if I don’t take a picture of this.” That’s when I set my camera up, put it on a 10-second timer, and took the photo you’re looking at right now. After 15 minutes of multitasking, the final result was a nice, tight ponytail for big sister and a happily sleeping baby in the carrier. Mission accomplished. I emailed the photo to her with the caption “Boom.” and we both got a good laugh out of it.

Just plain fuckin brilliant and sexy as hell when he takes out the hero worship and takes on the haters who want to condemn him for their insecurity:

As I’ve said in previous blog posts, I’m not immune to hate mail—and some messages are racist in nature and some aren’t. It comes with the territory of doing what I do and I completely understand that. However, do you know what’s funny? Oftentimes when a dude posts a public hateful comment on my FB page or Twitter feed, it’s followed up by his wife or girlfriend emailing me privately to apologize for his behavior. These women will tell me that their men are angry that I’m making them “look bad” because they aren’t holding up their end of the bargain when it comes to parenting. Here’s the thing: I don’t make anyone look bad. These guys are doing a fine job on their own according to the women in their lives.

Memo to the small pocket of male haters I have: Why don’t you put big boy shorts on and get in on the revolution of good fathers? It’s not a good look to tear down dads for doing the work your wives wished you were man enough to do on your own. If you don’t believe me, just ask your spouses. They’ll tell you.

But don’t worry. I’ll still be here whenever you’re ready to step your game up and join #TeamGrownAssMan.

Again, to the amazing fathers out there reading this (which happens to be the overwhelming majority)—much love to you guys. I appreciate you. Your spouses appreciate you. And most importantly—your kids appreciate you.

Okay, so maybe some would consider it demeaning to say that a strong secure man is sexy, too, but hey, if we are talking a man as a father, and sex comes into it, what’s not sexy as hell about seeing women as equal and living the truth of it?

I have a dream that people will view a picture like this and not think it’s such a big deal. Don’t get me wrong here – it’s a very cute picture, and it’s cool when people say so. However, I start to get a little uncomfortable when people want to start planning parade routes for me because of it. Somewhere there’s a dad doing the exact same thing for his daughters. Somewhere there’s a dad who put his foot down with his boss and refused to attend an “urgent staff meeting” so he could leave work early to attend his daughter’s dance recital. Somewhere there’s a single dad successfully getting his three sons ready for school. Somewhere there’s a stay at home dad crushing all of the cooking, cleaning, laundry for his family. Somewhere there’s a dad who would rather play catch in the backyard with his son instead of killing pixelated terrorists on his XBox.

In other words, there are plenty of good, involved dads out there. Many of them are reading this post right now.

I’ve posted hundreds of pictures of my family since I started blogging and I had no idea that this one would cause such a seismic shift on the WWW. But what if I posted a picture of MDW doing what I did in that picture? Many would probably think it’s cute, but after ten seconds of looking at it, they would probably move on to the next shiny object on their newsfeed. Why? Because it just wouldn’t be a big deal to many people if a woman did it.

Until we can get to the point where men and women can complete the same parenting tasks and the reactions are the same, we will have problems. If you want to create a statue for me for taking care of my daughters, create one for the moms who are doing the same damn thing everyday for their kids without receiving a “Thank you” or an “Ooooh” or “Ahhhh.

When you add in this man’s response to taking on gender equality and the fact that he recognizes the role he plays as a father, it starts to make you wonder if this man is for real. I mean, why aren’t other men saying these things? I could answer this quickly: this man has a gifted voice. I checked out his blog, and he seems to be real. I gotta say it to this man: thank you. Thank you for being a good father, husband, and voice for other men who do these things but may not have the strength of telling that story. Thank you for the voice. There are lots of men who do these things, and I know a good many of them, but they don’t have the voice to communicate it.

Since he asked readers to forward others to his blog, here is his link:

http://daddydoinwork.com

And to all the men who do the daddy work–you do a great job. Love you for it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

