Skip to content

Canadian Student Refuses to Work With Women In Class Citing Religious Beliefs

January 11, 2014

In a move that pits university administrators against the professor, one instructor at a Canadian university refused to reassign a male student who refused to work with women because he said it went against his religious beliefs.

“One of the main reasons that I have chosen Internet courses to complete my BA (Bachelor of Arts) is due to my firm religious beliefs, and part of that is the intermingling between men and women,” the student wrote in a letter made public this week.

The student, whose religion was not revealed, added, “It will not be possible for me to meet in public with a group of women (the majority of my group) to complete some of these tasks.”

Cue the barfing  here. One of the main reasons I have chosen the internet is because I am a zealot who can’t function in world that includes women. One of the main reasons I have chosen the internet is because I consider women chattel. One of the main reasons I have chosen the internet is because I am a fanatical Muslim extremist who would be ousted from a classroom if my ideology were known, so I chose to hide, and I ask you to help me cover up my extremism, chauvinism, and misogyny from the general public.

What is most disgusting about this tale, is that Canadian university officials retaliated against the professor who refused to be an accessory to sexism and tried to force him to allow this student to refrain from interacting with students based on their gender:

After sociology professor J. Paul Grayson turned down the request, he was ordered by the faculty dean, Martin Singer, to accommodate the student’s wishes.

Since then the issue has spiralled and became a hotly-debated topic in Canadian newspapers Thursday, even after the student withdrew his request and politely thanked Grayson and the school for considering it.

In a paper documenting the case, cited by several Canadian newspapers, Grayson explained that he did not wish to become an “accessory to sexism.”

He also expressed worry that it might set a precedent for others to avoid interacting with students of a given race, creed or sexual orientation.

Hooray for the prof who stood up for the rights of the class and didn’t let a dictator control the class. After all, doesn’t this example of this student just verify the fear the being Muslim equals being an extremist who seeks to control others, namely everyone in this class, by arguing that sexism and misogyny are simply a respected form of religious expression?

“I doubt that we would sanction a student refusing, for religious reasons, to interact with Blacks in classes even though Biblical justification could be found,” Grayson wrote in a letter to the university’s Centre for Human Rights, cited by the National Post.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

