Skip to content

I Thank the World Every Day for Ruth Bader Ginsburg–See Her Talk Hobby Lobby Decision

July 31, 2014

Let me just say that I love Ruth Bader Ginsburg. She is my hero. She makes me happy, hopeful, and is one of the few bright spots for me in the legal landscape of the United States that is patriarchal. She is proof of longevity. She is proof of hope. She is tough and smart, and I love that woman’s brain. When I am upset, I read something by Ginsburg. Some people may read Mark Twain, and I have, and I smile. His social critiques are hilarious. Some people may read bout daffodils, lonely fields of them. Some people may read stories about Chicken Soup for the Soul variety. I read Ginsburg. She is always fighting for equal rights.

When I want to feel good about the direction in which humanity is heading, I read Ginsburg. When I want to read about someone standing up for the smaller person, I read Ginsburg. When I want to read about someone who has had the courage to stand up to bullies, for years at a time, I read Ginsburg.

Ginsburg’s Hobby Lobby dissent is a much-talked about decision. I have read bits of it, savoring it the way someone would a great novel, but in her discussion with Katie Courtic (See Katie Couric interview with Ruth Bader Ginsburg here regarding Hobby Lobby dissent.), Ginsburg openly states that she does not believe the male justices, with whom she dissented, understand the import of their actions.

“Do you believe that the five male justices truly understood the ramifications of their decision?” Couric asked Ginsburg of the 5-4 Hobby Lobby ruling, which cleared the way for employers to deny insurance coverage of contraceptives to female workers on religious grounds.

“I would have to say no,” the 81-year-old justice replied. Asked if the five justices revealed a “blind spot” in their decision, Ginsburg said yes.

The feisty leader of the court’s minority liberal bloc compared the decision of her five male peers to an old Supreme Court ruling that found discriminating against pregnant women was legal.

Hold them blameless, for they know not what they do…

She openly implies that men and their religious beliefs do not have the right to force those rights onto the women who work for them, to control a woman’s sexuality to that degree simply because she is their employee:

“I certainly respect the belief of the Hobby Lobby owners,” she said. “On the other hand, they have no constitutional right to foist that belief on the hundreds and hundreds of women” who work for them.

Can we all just take a moment to cheer for Ginsburg? I am going to smile the rest of the day. Thanks, Ginsburg…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

